Last Dance in Havana by Rosanna Ley – Book Review

When the Quercus Summer Reading book club gave me the chance to read and review three books this summer I said yes straight away. I read two or three books a week – mostly from my local library (this is due to close later this year but that is another story)

DSCF0117 (2)

Rosanna Ley is a new author to me and I was drawn in straight away by the first chapter. It is set in Havana in 1957 and Elisa goes to her first dance and meets a dark stranger. The description of the Cuban version of the rumba made me want to join in the dancing! Rumba is not my most loved  dance on “Strictly” but I love this version.

The Massage and Aromatherapy treatments Grace gave were also described very well – I qualified many years ago but the healing and practice is just the same.

The story bobs about between the three main characters Elisa, Grace and Rosalyn and between Cuba and Bristol  and between 1957 1985 and 2012 – I always find this a tad irritating but that is just me!

The reason for Grace’s Mothers death was a bit predictable – I guessed right at the start what had happened.

There was also a bit too much about the Revolution, Che and Castro for me too – I wanted more Bristol and less Cuba!

I know I am a nit picker but the back of the book says Havana 1958 and the first page Havanna 1957. Elisa feels the cold and it is a cold Spring – she is not ready to put away her fleece lined boots until November – I presume she meant the boots she had worn since November.

All this apart this is a good holiday read, great to pick up when travelling and we all love a happy ending!

DSCF0116 (2)

Looking forward to my next book.

Leave a Reply

