Recipe for Pilgrim’s Choice Farmhouse Baconless Egg Pie

Baconless Egg Pie to feed 2-4

Ingredients; I x small pack of frozen pastry mine was 360gms

A few mushrooms

3 x vegetarian sausages

A few Cherry tomatoes

4 x eggs

Pilgrim’s Choice Cheese (Iused the Farmhouse Vintage Cheddar) – I cut 3 slices from the end and them cut these into small bits about 1/4″ ( you could grate the cheese but you would then have to wash the grater!)

salt, pepper, flour for dusting, margarine or butter to grease the dish or baking tray

DSCF8444

I don’t have a large enough baking tray so I lined my lasagne dish with foil and lightly greased the foil. I rolled out the pastry to a 12″ square. This just fitted with the edges pulled up to make a dish shape. I cut the sausages into chunks, the mushrooms in half and left the tomatoes whole, these are all scattered into the dish. Crack an egg into a saucer and slide it into a hollow between the other ingredients and repeat this with the other eggs. scatter the Pilgrim’s Choice all over the other ingredients. Season well (I did not use much salt as the veggie sausages are very salty)

DSCF8446

I left this for about 1/2 an hour but I don’t think it is essential. Brush the pastry with a few drops of milk (I just dip my clean fingers into the milk) Preheat your oven to 200c 180c fan ovens or gas mark 6. It takes around 30 minutes to cook.

DSCF8447

I lifted it out of the dish with the foil onto a board ready to cut. It divided into 4 wedges but we managed to eat all four between the two of us!

It was really delicious, you could smell the cheese as I opened the oven door.

This can be varied with whatever you have to hand. Without the mushroom it is a drier dish as they have so much moisture in them.

Husband voted it ten out of ten and I still have 294gm of Pilgrim’s Choice left!

One thought on “Recipe for Pilgrim’s Choice Farmhouse Baconless Egg Pie

Leave a Reply

